GCSE General Certificates of Secondary Education (GCSE)

GCSEs are usually taken at school-leaving age after two years’ study, but are available to students of any age. They are normally assessed through a mixture of internal assessment (coursework) and exams.

GCE A-Levels Advanced Level General Certificate of Education (GCE A-LEVELS)

A-levels are studied over a two-year period and are recognised as the standard for assessing the suitability of applicants for academic courses.

International Baccalaureate (IB)

The IB programme is a two-year educational programme for students aged 16–19 that provides an internationally accepted qualification for entry into higher education, and is recognised by universities worldwide.

International Diploma

Applicants who do not meet the minimum academic requirements for direct undergraduate entry may choose to instead pursue the international diploma path.

University Foundation Course

University Foundation Programme is a one-year intensive course that leads to entry to a wide range of universities in the United Kingdom.


Undergraduate degrees in universities of England, Northern Ireland and Wales are all three-year programmes, while that in Scotland are usually four-year programmes.

Pre Masters

Pre-masters courses are for international students who want to study a master’s degree at a UK university, but do not have the academic or English level required for direct entry.